Life Gets In The Way Sometimes (and that’s ok)

Life has a tendency to get in the way. It’s easy to get lost in the day to day busyness of it all. I’ll admit that I’ve gotten sucked into it. It’s easy to let go of hiking plans after a 6-day 60+hour work week. By the time my free day rolls around I either have a ton of errands to do or I’m just flat out exhausted. And as each of those free days slide by without any hikes it gets easier and easier to skip again and again. I am so guilty of this. I keep telling myself that this time I’m gonna go on a long hike but then I wake up and I barely feel like getting out of bed let alone tackling a mountain.

So tell me this? Do you ever feel beaten down and exhausted by your work week that by the time your weekend rolls around you’ve lost the motivation to go hiking? What do you to overcome it. I think it’s easier to find motivation by hiking with friends rather than hiking solo. While I love the freedom of hiking solo having someone else hold me accountable can be kind of necessary sometimes (though there are plenty more reasons to hike with friends other than accountability).

I guess what I’m trying to say is that these days I’m feeling pretty burnt out by the time I have a free day to go hiking and I’m struggling to find the motivation and energy to go. I’ve also come to accept that it’s ok if I don’t get out every weekend or every free day that I have. My body needs a rest sometimes and it’s good to have a lazy day once in a while as long as I don’t make a habit of it. Do you have any tips to get me going again?

On the plus side, I’ve been trail running a lot lately! It’s been a great workout and I’m getting that time outside during my work week (plus my dog is really enjoying getting out too). I’ve been having less knee pain with each run as I get stronger. And my times are steadily getting faster. It feels amazing to be running again! I have my first 5k this friday! And I’ve got a four mile race next friday! I’m pretty pumped! While I might not be hiking as much at the moment I’m glad that I’m spending some time trail running!

I’ll post later this week with updates on what I’ve been up to! Happy Tuesday and Happy Trails!

7 thoughts on “Life Gets In The Way Sometimes (and that’s ok)

  1. Hi Anna! So pleasant to hear your voice again. Yes, it’s been a l-o-n-g while since I was out for a serious hike and it sits in the back of my brain pestering me. It is very hard getting back out when some time has gone by but…I don’t pressure myself. I know when I am finally ready (and tired of the nagging voice in my head) I will put forth the effort and get out. Sometimes though, life does interfere and we have to get out the calendar and make a commitment – it’s helpful to have a partner but not necessary.You don’t want your bank account to get to low or your gas tank in your car or your cupboards, the same is true for your need for a nature break. Pick a trail that is not too taxing on your exhausted days and just go for a ‘walk in the woods’ vs. a ‘hike’. It’s refreshing and it might jump start your enthusiasm to get out more regularly. Happy Trails!

    Like

    • Hey Karyn! It’s been a long time! I hope you’re doing well and that you had a great summer! I was able to get in some fun hikes here and there, but mostly I focused on running. I did take a few days off of work to meander on the Appalachian Trail and that was amazing! Now that the weather is cooling down I’ve got the backpacking bug again. I can’t wait to hit the trails this weekend! Rain or shine! Happy Trails!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hi Anna! I know you wrote this “2 months ago” but I haven’t been here since July and I’m so happy to see you’ve checked in on me 🙂 I am always glad to read your blog and I have some catching up to do with you and others. I’ll just blog about my missing months, it will be ‘easier’. Happy Trails my friend!!

        Like

  2. This is a struggle for me, especially as we start to hit the 100’s as early as 8 am. I definitely try to rope people into the early morning grind of their weekend but that can be tough. I constantly cycle through activities and it sounds like you’re cycling through trail running. Something will kick on the burner and you’ll get back your mojo. It always seems to happen for me. No real suggestion here, just don’t get frustrated that your motivation isn’t for hikes right now. Good luck at your race!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for the words of encouragement. I found a lot more joy in early morning or late evening runs over the summer than I did with hiking, purely because of the heat. But now that fall is officially here I’m doing what I can to fit both into my schedule.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Feeling burnt out is really tough, have been there often. Yet it is a “catch 22”, it those times when I am strung out and exhausted are the times I need to get out and recharge myself on a trail. Just took up trail running myself this year, and I love it! 🙂
    ~Carl~

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the words of encouragement Carl! The other day I went out for a hike for the first time in over a month and I’d forgotten how refreshing and amazing it could feel! It definitely renewed me. Running is fun, and gives me a sense of exhilaration, but nothing beats the peace you get with a long hike!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

