Grand Ideas

I think I had this big idea that if I left the safety net of home I would flourish. That every demon in my past would disappear. That moving would somehow change me and make me a different person. I guess I learned that it doesn’t work that way.

While moving wasn’t the ultimate answer to my ongoing search (don’t ask what I’m searching for cause I couldn’t tell ya), I did get to explore some pretty amazing places.

I think my favorite hike of all the hikes I did in Oregon was to Punch Bowl Falls in the Columbia River Gorge. It was one of the first hikes I did alone in the PNW and it was my first sight of that beautiful blue water.

I can still close my eyes and picture it now. The intense sound of the water crashing down into a vibrant blue pool of water. Foggy clouds drifting out of the trees, their green just as intense as the blue water. The sky was a dreary grey which seemed to intensify every color around me. I felt like I was in a rain forest, dwarfed by the giant trees. I found a secluded spot of the trail and closed my eyes. The rumble of the crashing water deafening, drowning out the rest of the world.

I remember feeling as though I walked into a magical land. Where nothing but peace and beauty existed.

 

Leave a Reply

